Next TSS Book Group – JEWISH PIRATES!!!! Arrrrrrrrrrr!

Jewish Pirates of the Caribbean: How a Generation of Swashbuckling Jews Carved Out an Empire in the New World in Their Quest for Treasure, Religious Freedom–and Revenge

In this lively debut work of history, Edward Kritzler tells the tale of an unlikely group of swashbuckling Jews who ransacked the high seas in the aftermath of the Spanish Inquisition. At the end of the fifteenth century, many Jews had to flee Spain and Portugal. The most adventurous among them took to the seas as freewheeling outlaws. In ships bearing names such as the Prophet Samuel, Queen Esther, and Shield of Abraham, they attacked and plundered the Spanish fleet while forming alliances with other European powers to ensure the safety of Jews living in hiding. Filled with high-sea adventures–including encounters with Captain Morgan and other legendary pirates–Jewish Pirates of the Caribbean reveals a hidden chapter in Jewish history as well as the cruelty, terror, and greed that flourished during the Age of Discovery.

We will meet on  April 27, 2015 at Marcia & Miles Berkow’s home. 7:15 pm

1619 Shenandoah Ct.  18104.

Please park on either Yellowstone or Chalmut Rd

rsvp to Marcia at mhberkow@gmail or Margie Hertz at

A Thank You Letter from the Cleveland School, 3-18-2015

Dear Temple Shirat Shalom:

As you know, there was a fire at Cleveland Elementary School in Allentown, PA on the morning of Tuesday, February 24th. We were lucky enough that no students were in the building when the fire occurred, and two teachers acted quickly to ensure the safety of those inside. Thank you so much for your very generous donation to our school.

Please know that while the district was able to organize classroom spaces, transportation, temporary bus stops, classroom furniture, and textbooks for all of our students within three days of the fire, we were very short on school supplies for our teachers and students. The donation that we received from you has been integral to the smooth transition for our students, teachers, and families. Please accept this letter as an expression of our sincere gratitude for your support through this trying time. Let us know if there is any way we can return the favor in the future.


Tonya Swavely, Principal

Scholar in Residence Weekend – POSTPONED!!!

Due to community conflicts with our scheduled Scholar in Residence Weekend April 17th-19th, it has been postponed to a later date. Please remember to attend our annual meeting on April 19th. Details to follow.


The annual meeting of the Members of Temple Shirat Shalom will be held on Sunday, April 19, 2015, at 1:30 P.M. at the home of Don and Judith Belmont (1490 Shelburne Ct, Allentown).

Please join us for lunch at 12:30 PM!


The Agenda shall include election of the congregation’s Trustees and reports from the President, Treasurer, Clergy and such other committees and persons the Board of Trustees may request.


The Current Board consists of the following:

Officers: (2 year terms, 2 consecutive terms maximum)

President          Don Belmont        (end of term)

President elect    Elliot Gluskin

Vice President

Treasurer          Jay Plotnick

Secretary          Marcia Berkow      (end of term)

Chairpersons: (3 year terms, 1 term maximum)

Education          Shari Gluskin

Membership         Debi Nelson (resigning)

At large Board members: (3 year terms, 1 term max)

Member at large    Jon Hertz          (end of term)

Member at large    Audrey Nolte       (end of term)

Member at large    Liz Kamp           (2 years served)

Member at large    Susan Shmookler    (2 years served)

Member at large    Cheryl Shadick      (2 years served)

Member at large    Neil Hogan         (1 year served)

Member at large    Ellen Miller       (1 year served)



President          Elliot Gluskin

Secretary          Lynn Schiavone

Membership         Beth Marquardt

Member at large    Terry Schettini    (3 years)


Respectfully submitted

                        Stuart T Shmookler

                        Don Belmont

                        Neil Hogan

                        Elliot Gluskin

                        (Nominating Committee)